Smithsonian Air and Space Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center Washington DC

This past weekend we had an opportunity to visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in Washington DC — home of the NASA Space Shuttle Discovery and MORE importantly, home of JETFIRE, the jet from Transformers 2 Revenge of the Fallen — and it was definitely worth the visit. Not only was this museum a family friendly place with that appeals to both children and adults, it was nicely air conditioned for a blistering 100+ degree day! Wow! And I can’t even IMAGINE what their electricity charges are each month because of it!

There are two things I must explain about this location before I go any further:

1) Although this is technically a Smithsonian Museum it is NOT located on the National Mall. This is a secondary Air and Space Museum and is located by Dulles Airport. On that note, there is a lot of construction going on on the 495 and subsequent roads so be advised that if you choose to take this trip be aware of the road signs and do NOT trust your GPS fully! Surry, my GPS (yes, I call it Surry! Why? Not sure…she’s Surry from Skynet and sometimes I wonder about her LOL)

2) Also, although this is technically a Smithsonian Museum and technically it’s free, there IS a $15 parking fee. But on the plus side, it’s own parking lot and it is not city parking or anything. Very convenient, and for me to say that is something. Parking is always a great worry when I go places and I don’t do it very well even though I’ve been driving for 10+  years so…this one gets two thumbs up from me!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

